Washington, DC

DC holds a special place in my heart. I fell in love with the city after visiting for a political conference when I was 18 and the following year I spent a semester interning at the White House. After graduating from college, I lived in DC for five years before returning to Texas. I’m lucky enough to be able to return occasionally for work, and I had just enough free time last week when I was in town to walk around the National Mall and see some of the monuments, which never get old to me.

Image

After a rainy day, it finally dried out and there were a TON of tourists.Image

Image

Image

DC is where I met my husband and he proposed at my favorite spot in the city, a lesser-known memorial tucked away between the Lincoln Memorial and the WWII Memorial. It’s called the DC War Memorial–if you’re in DC, be sure to find it!

Image

Image

One of my favorite things to do in DC is just walk around the city–there are so many parks and green places to explore, like Constitution Gardens, below.

Image

During my trip, I lunched at L’Auberge Chez François, one of the best French restaurants in the DC area. It’s in Great Falls, a bit of a hike from the city, but such a treat and well worth it for the yummy food.

Image

Image

Image

My courses, clockwise from top left: Lentil soup, cheese tart, plum tart with cinnamon ice cream, vegetable plate

Image

This trip made me think I need to return to DC with my husband to really see all the sights and visit some of the Smithsonian museums, which we haven’t done in years. Adding in a quick train ride up to NYC would really make for a fun city trip!

Leave a Reply

