Road trip to Austin

Making the three hour drive to Austin has become one of my favorite weekend getaways. I’ve been four or five times in the past couple years–sometimes with girlfriends and sometimes with Scott– but every visit I find new, fun things to do. This time I went with Scott and we searched out some of Austin’s famous murals. I think this one was my favorite.

Butter Half, located at 2000 E Martin Luther King Jr Blvd.IMG_1719

Greetings From Austin, located at South 1st and AnnieIMG_1721

I love you so much, located at 1300 South CongressIMG_1724

Frank’s Public Art, parking lot near 4th and ColoradoIMG_1725

We grabbed lunch at Bouldin Creek, a vegetarian cafe. There aren’t too many all-vegetarian restaurants here in Fort Worth, so this was a real treat for me. I hardly know what to do when I have more than one or two options on the menu! There was a long wait on a Saturday afternoon, but the food was delish and very reasonable–all this food was only about 15 bucks.PicMonkey Collage

After lunch we walked around the South Congress Street area, which would have been a nice idea had it not been 102 degrees, in the hottest part of the day, with the sun blazing down. We stopped at Gourdough’s food truck on the way back to our car to grab a dessert to-go. Unfortunately, I totally forgot to take a picture of the cute truck and the unbelievable yummy donut we ordered, probably because I was nearing a heat stroke. So here’s a pic from their website.abouty9976

We also ate at Due Forni (pizza) and Annie’s Cafe (brunch)–both are conveniently located downtown, near the Hyatt Place where we stayed.

The day before we left for Austin, I got a tip from a boutique owner here in Fort Worth to stop in Salado. I’m so glad I took her advice–this cute little town is only a block off the expressway, so it’s a great place to stretch your legs and check out the boutiques, art shops, and cafes. There are some wineries there too we could have visited, if we’d had more time.IMG_3943

I have an addiction to scarves, so I loved this colorful display.IMG_3937

IMG_3940IMG_3944

Leave a Reply

