Fall weekend in the woods

Back in May, Scott and I rented a French-style cottage in the woods of Broken Bow, Oklahoma. We had such a nice time, and I knew I wanted go back in the fall and rent a larger place. I had my eye on a gorgeous cabin called Hidden Acres, but it was already booked up for every fall weekend. Then a few weeks ago I happened to see that they’d had a cancellation, so we decided a last minute weekend road trip was in order.

The cabin is huge, so my parents came along and we cooked all our own meals. We lucked out and had perfect weather—pleasantly warm days and cool nights to enjoy a campfire and the hot tub.

The cabin is on five secluded acres and has a huge meadow with a volleyball net. I’ve never seen as many stars in my life as I did looking up from that meadow at night. It was one of those take-your-breath-away moments.

IMG_1806

IMG_1865

IMG_1820

Just down the road is an easy hiking trail through the woods. One of my favorite things about walking the trail was the sweet smell of pine—there aren’t many pine trees in this part of Texas so usually the only pine I smell is from an air freshener. The fall colors were just starting to appear on the trees which made it easy to take some great photos.

IMG_1874 IMG_1876

IMG_4436

IMG_1861 IMG_1838 IMG_1836 IMG_1830

We only left the cabin once all weekend, and that was to drive to the nearby Broken Bow Lake. I was amazed at how quiet and peaceful it was on such a beautiful weekend. Even prettier than I remembered from May.

IMG_1845

IMG_1852 IMG_1841

This was our second great experience renting from Hidden Hills Cabins–they have some amazing properties of all sizes and I highly recommend them for a cabin getaway!

IMG_1839 IMG_1860

IMG_4499 IMG_4495 IMG_4493 IMG_4492

Leave a Reply

